Pyjama Tutorial

Cliff ripped the bum out if his new pyjamas!! It was funny at the time but I couldn’t fix them and didn’t want to just throw them out (really trying to reduce waste). So I decided to turn Cliffs pj bottoms into Eli’s and I transformed a plain top to match. This is how they turned out 🙂

20140112-094457.jpg

I made the bottoms first. I got a pair of Eli’s pj bottoms, folded them in half and then drew around then on a piece of paper. I added about an inch to the top and bottom and about half an inch to the sides for seams and hems.

20140112-094907.jpg

I cut out the pattern and then pinned it onto the old bottoms (you can obviously use new fabric!) I folded the fabric and placed the straight edge of the pattern on the fold. Cut it out and repeat for the other leg.
Now I opened out the fabric and placed them together, right sides facing. The rise needs sewing first so I pinned this area together and sewed it together.

20140112-095547.jpg

Once done I laid them out so they look like trousers and pinned the seam on the inside of the legs. I then sewed this together.

20140112-095851.jpg

I used the original hem on the bottom of Cliffs pj’s as Eli’s hem so didn’t need to do one with this pair, however you would fold over the fabric twice (half inch each fold) and then pin and sew.

Now I did the waist band. I folded over and pressed about half an inch and then repeated to give a channel for the elastic to live in. I sewed about 3mm from the top and then did the same around the bottom of the channel. Make sure to leave a couple of inches open to feed the elastic through. I pin a safety pin to one end of the elastic and pull it through making sure not to let the other end disappear in!

20140112-100627.jpg

Finally close the hole and they are done!!

For the pj top I bought a cheap long sleeved, plain to to coordinate with the bottoms. I cut 2 rectangles of the pj bottom material. I turned the top inside out and pinned the rectangles to the top, right side of material facing wrong side of top. Make sure it is only pinned to the front of the top.

20140112-101035.jpg

I then sewed around each rectangle and turned the top the right way round.

20140112-101221.jpg

Now I very carefully cut the top fabric from the inside if each rectangle. I found the easiest way to do this was to pull apart both fabrics (you really don’t want to cut through the new piece of fabric!) Then cut from the centre to the each corner. (Don’t go right into the corner or you will cut through the stitching). I then cut about 2/3mm from the stitching so I was left with a small border of top material.

20140112-101755.jpg

And that’s it pyjamas done 🙂 These pyjamas can be made for any size, child or adult! Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

