Recipes – Welsh Rarebit

Today I made one of my all time favourite lunches…Welsh Rarebit, well what I always believed it was until I found other recipes for it and are nothing like mine! This I guess is more like cheesy scrambled egg without the egg taste. My mum used to make it and now do I πŸ™‚

So you will need to serve one hungry adult:

Half of an onion
1 tbls oil
150 grams of mature cheddar
1/4 tsp Pepper
1/2 tsp English mustard powder
3 tbls milk
1 egg
2 slices of bread

Chop your onion up fairly small and gently fry until softened.
Grate the cheese.
Add the milk, cheese, pepper and mustard to the pan and cook gently until the cheese is melted.
Pop the bread on to toast now.
Crack the egg into the pan and keep stirring until thickened.
Pop the toast on a plate and top with the Welsh rarebit.
Enjoy πŸ™‚

20131121-185616.jpg

Leave a Reply

